Prince George's County Logo
Home Page Home Page icon   Site Questions Questions icon   Contact Us Telephone Icon   Printer Version Printer Icon   Icon: BrowseAloud   
Residents     Business     Visitors     Government     Employment     Online Services     Gallery     Newsroom  
Prince George's County, MD Prince George's County, MD 

Permits and Review Division(PRD)

Kina Campbell, P.E. Associate Director

Permits Office
9400 Peppercorn Place
6th Floor
Largo, MD  20774

(301) 883 – 5900
(301) 883 – 5924

Starting August 22, 2012, the new hours of operation for the Permits and Review Division will be Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.; every Wednesday from 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., and closed on weekends and holidays.

NOTE: No customers are received after 3:00 p.m.

Our Mission

To protect the natural and built environment by providing technical support to the development community through the review and approval of permits and plans for residential and commercial construction.

The Permits and Review Division provides technical support to review and approve plans for construction, including structural, mechanical, electrical, fire, and life safety-related issues throughout a construction project. The law requires that an owner or authorized agent shall obtain a permit to erect, construct, enlarge, alter, move, improve, connect, demolish, use and/or occupy, or raze any building. PRD assists in determining the type of permit needed and works with the development community for the completion of a successful project venture.

Permitting Process

In addition to construction plans, other examples of projects requiring permits include installation or construction of chimneys, billboards, carports, chairlifts, escalators, swimming pools, wood burning stoves, certain fences, antennae, and installation or renovation of certain electrical devices and wiring. Applicants must submit structural and site plans with the application. Application fees are set in accordance with the County Code and the nature of the project.

The permit application must be reviewed for approval by other County and State agencies. This occurs when part(s) of a particular construction plan include environmental, health and/or safety matters governed by agencies other than the Prince George's County Department of Environmental Resources. Those agencies include the Department of Public Works and Transportation (DPW&T), the Health Department, the Soil Conservation District (SCD), the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (WSSC) and the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC). Representatives from DPW&T, and M-NCPPC are now accessible in the Department of Environmental Resources.

Back to Top

Permits Administration Section

Section Office (301) 883-5987; General Permit Information Line (301) 883-5776

The Permits Administration Section operates and manages the County Permits Office; including providing residential and commercial customers with the information needed to submit permit application and plans, distributing permit application and plans to agencies responsible for review, and issuance of permits for approved applications and plans. Other services provided by this Section include:

  • Providing permit application and processing status;
  • Storing, maintaining, and archiving permit applications and plans; and
  • Preparing and distributing brochures and other public information on permits.

Engineering Management Section

Section Office (301) 883-5974
Structural Review Unit (301) 883-5855
Life Safety and Fire Review Unit (301) 883-5974
Mechanical/Electrical Unit (301) 883-5905

Calhoun, Daniel DTCalhoun@co.pg.md.us Plans Administration Support
Eames, Sean SEEames@co.pg.md.us Fire & Life Safety Plan Reviewer
Farahani, Mike MXFarahani@co.pg.md.us Electrical/Mechanical Unit Supervisor
Jones, Tammy TEJones2@co.pg.md.us Administrative Support
Lauer, Kenny KLauer@co.pg.md.us Structural Plan Reviewer
Lemma, Tezera Tlemma@co.pg.md.us Structural Plan Reviewer
Maddox, Crystal CJMaddox2@co.pg.md.us Fire & Life Safety Plan Reviewer
McCann, Chris COMcCann@co.pg.md.us Structural Plan Reviewer
Middleton, Harvey HTMiddleton@co.pg.md.us Acting Section Head
Patel, Avadhesh ARPatel@co.pg.md.us Mechanical Plan Reviewer
Phillips, Debbie DSPhillips@co.pg.md.us Administrative Support
Queirolo, Maria MTQueirolo@co.pg.md.us Fire & Life Safety Plan Reviewer
Register, Dewey DRegister@co.pg.md.us Plan Screening & Plan Review Support
Richardson, Jasen JWRichardson@co.pg.md.us Fire & Life Safety Plan Reviewer
Thompson, Lisa Lthompson@co.pg.md.us Plans Administration Support
Verma, Danish DVerma@co.pg.md.us Electrical Plan Reviewer
Wanant, Sompandh SWanant@co.pg.md.us Structural Plan Reviewer
Welborne, Robert RWelborne@co.pg.md.us Electrical Plan Reviewer

The Engineering Management Section reviews all building plans (residential and commercial) to ensure compliance with all applicable Building Codes. These plans include structural, architectural, mechanical, energy, electrical, fire protection systems, fire alarms, sprinkler drawings/calculations, and handicapped disciplines.

PRD Frequently Asked Questions

How to Schedule An Inspection

For information on how to schedule an inspection, click here.